Current and Upcoming Tournaments:
|Mar 14-15||March 2-Day Satellite||Description||Tee Times|
|Mar 21||March 2-Man Scramble||Description||Tee Times|
Ray Volpi Passed This Morning – 2/20/2015February 21st, 2015 posted by Ken Hafner
Sadly, the Coronado Men’s Club lost one of its longtime members today. Ray Volpi, 93 years old, was a member for over 35 years, and served on the Club’s Board including Club President in 1987. Prior to his days in the Men’s Club, Ray flew fighter planes in both WWII and Korea. He also commanded a naval ship during the Vietnam War. Ray was a well-educated man with a degree from George Washington University and a Masters at USC. He must not have spent all his time in school or overseas because as a younger man (up until his early 80s) he was a pretty good golfer and if given the chance, would joyfully relieve you of all your money on the golf course. Ray is survived by a loving family including his son Gordon who is currently a CMGC member.
– Ray Volpi… A life well lived -
Congrats to our 2015 President’s Cup ChampionFebruary 17th, 2015 posted by Ken Hafner
Congratulations to the 2015 President’s Cup Champion, Artie DeBaca. Artie’s two day net of 132 bested the competition by 5 strokes.
March Tournament Applications: 2-Day Satellite & 1-Day ScrambleFebruary 7th, 2015 posted by Ken Hafner
Click the link to the right to view then print the tournament application for the 2-Day Satellite Tournament: 2015 March 2-Day Application
Click the link to the right to view then print the tournament application for the 2-Man Scramble (1-Day) Tournament: 2015 March 1-Day Application
From the Handicap Chairman, Tom WeiksJanuary 14th, 2015 posted by Ken Hafner
Tom Weiks, our Handicap Chairman has struggled reading the scorecards submitted by our members, primarily due to incompleteness. This attachment provides guidance that may help all of us do a better job, making his much easier: Filling-out Scorecards
Know the RulesJanuary 13th, 2015 posted by Ken Hafner
How can I better understand the rules of golf? This is a question I often hear. My answer is, first read and understand the Definitions that are located at the beginning of the rulebook. If you have a good understanding of the Definitions you are a long way toward understanding how to deal with most situations that arise in the course of play. From time to time I will feature a Definition in the newsletter. This month features “Ball in Play” definition.
Ball In Play – A ball is “in play” as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground. It remains in play until it is holed, except when it is lost, out of bounds or lifted, or another ball has been substituted, whether or not the substitution is permitted; a ball so substituted becomes the ball in play.
If a ball is played from outside the teeing ground when the player is starting play of a hole, or when attempting to correct this mistake, the ball is not in play and Rule 11-4 or 11-5 applies. Otherwise, ball in play includes a ball played from outside the teeing ground when the player elects or is required to play his next stroke from the teeing ground.
Exception in match play: Ball in play includes a ball played by the player from outside the teeing ground when starting play of a hole if the opponent does not require the stroke to be canceled in accordance with Rule 11-4a.
Rules Chairman, Bill Pultz