Rules Corner: When Is a Putt “Holed”?

In this month’s tournament, a player hit his putt into the hole, but it caught the edge of the hole liner and ultimately came to rest out of the hole. The player wanted to know if he could treat the ball as being holed or not.   According to the definition of a “holed” ball in the USGA’s Rules and Decisions (Section II):

“A ball is “holed” when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.”  

Therefore, under the circumstances described by the player, his ball was not holed as it did not come to rest below the level of the lip of the hole.

Bill Pultz, CMG Rules Chairman

Comments are closed.